NEWIEE contributing members are eligible to register.
create new account request a new password
If your email address has changed, please contact


Join NEWIEE today! Click here for details
Sixth Annual Achievement Awards - Coming this April 2016

Seeking Nominations for New England Women in
Energy and the Environment’s
Sixth Annual Achievement Awards
Nominations are due by 5 PM, Friday, January 15, 2016

Click Here For Nomination Form

We all know remarkable women who have left their mark on environmental and energy issues.  NEWIEE honors these exceptional women at its festive annual NEWIEE Achievement Awards Gala every spring.  

We need your help in recognizing and honoring the women who have led the way in the energy and environmental sectors.  Who do you know who has blazed trails in our field?  Who has had a lasting impact on our policies, businesses, and institutions?  Who has served as a role model and mentor for others and has exhibited significant achievements and talents that have been influential in the energy and environmental future of our region?  

We invite you to nominate a woman whose achievements you admire.  Please take a moment to send us your top picks for New England women who have been leaders in the energy and/or environmental fields.   Nominations are due January 15th.

What an inspirational night!

Fifth Annual NEWIEE Gala
Thursday, April 16, 2015, 6-9pm
Omni Parker House, Boston

Gala Logistics Information

The NEWIEE Awards Gala recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of women leaders in the fields of energy and environment who have achieved professional excellence within their area of specialty and have actively paved the way to success for other women in similar or related professional areas.

NEWIEE Achievement Awards:

  •     Sara J. Burns, President and Chief Executive Officer,
        Central Maine Power (CMP)
  •     Heather Hunt, in honor of Allison Smith, Executive Director
        New England States Committee on Electricity (NESCOE)
  •     Nancy L. Seidman, Assistant Commissioner,
        Bureau of Air and Waste,

        MA Department of Environmental Protection

NEWIEE Leadership Award:

  •     Judith Nitsch, PE, LEED AP BD+C,
        Founding Principal and Chairman,

        Nitsch Engineering


2014 Gala

Keynote Speaker

  • Karen Gordon Mills, Former Administrator, Small Business Administration

NEWIEE Achievement Awards

  • Alicia Barton, Chief Executive Officer, Massachusetts Clean Energy Center
  • Janet Gail Besser, Vice President of Policy and Government Affairs, New England Clean Energy Council
  • Elin Swanson Katz, Consumer Counsel, State of Connecticut

NEWIEE Leadership Award

  • Patricia Stanton, Senior Vice President of Policy & Advocacy, Conservation Services Group

2013 Gala

Keynote Speaker

  • Cheryl A. LaFleur, Commissioner of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

NEWIEE Achievement Awards

  • Susan Coakley, Executive Director, North East Energy Partnerships
  • Mary Beth Gentleman, Partner, Foley Hoag
  • Rebecca Tepper, General Counsel, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities

NEWIEE Leadership Award

  • Dr. Sue Tierney, Senior Advisor, The Analysis Group

2012 Gala

Keynote Speaker

  • Janet Gail Besser, Vice President, Policy and Government Affairs, New England Clean Energy Council (NECEC)

NEWIEE Achievement Awards

  • Sonia Hamel, Consultunt to foundations, non-profits, and governments
  • Edna Karanian, Director, Yankee Gas System Operations
  • Barbara Kates-Garnick, Independent Consultant, Former Undersecretary for Energy in MA Exec Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

NEWIEE Leadership Award

  • Joan Bok, Former Chairman of the New England Electric System

2011 Gala

Keynote Speaker

  • Marcy L. Reed, President of National Grid

NEWIEE Achievement Awards

  • Nancy Hazard, Former Director of NESEA, Greening Greenfield Campaign
  • Denise Napier, CT State Treasurer
  • Karen Weber, Executive Director of Foundation for a Green Future, Coordinator of Boston GreenFest

NEWIEE Leadership Award

  • Mildred Dresselhaus, MIT



Women Shaping the Agenda in Energy and the Environment: The Public Sector
June 23, 2015
more events >>